The ASHA Convention Experience

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-8-36-50-am

The School Speech Therapist is going to ASHA. It has been 29 years but in a few days I’m finally going back to the ASHA Convention. This time not as a newbee SLP but as a seasoned professional with over 30 years of experience. I’ve also decided to blog my ASHA experience.

I’ve spent the last few days perusing the course/workshop/poster session lists, hoping to maximize my learning and my acquisition of CEUs. That process alone has been a bit overwhelming but also interesting to see what others in the field are working on. There are also a hand full of non-course activities and “meet and greets” that sound like fun. With social media being such a big part of SLP world these days, I’m also looking forward to putting some names and faces together.

The other exciting part about the ASHA Convention for me is that I am presenting a poster session. For a lot of people that wouldn’t be a big deal but for me it is. For months now I’ve been planning and prepping. Anyone who says putting together presentations isn’t work, is totally wrong. Since this is a first for me, it’s probably taken me twice as long to pull this poster session together. I sweated over the title, wondered if the content would be relevant, figured out how to create a poster in powerpoint and toiled over my three pages of handouts. The good thing is that I now know my material so well that I’m not feeling nervous about presenting. I also realize I could be doing all this work and no one even stop by to see my poster. I will explain a little more about my poster presentation in a future post. For now here are the presentation details.

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-12-33-49-pm
(To get the advance handout you need to go to the ASHA web site. I’ll post it live after the conference along with my rack card handout for administrators)

I’ve actually retitled my poster to Educating School Administrators about the Speech Language Pathologists Scope of Practice and role in Schools My poster session is based on my book The School Speech Language Pathologist, An Administrators Guide to understanding the role of the SLP in schools along with strategies to aid staffing, workload management and student success

Hope to see many of you there! If not follow along.
Scroll down to see newest posts

Teresa
screen-shot-2016-11-16-at-7-40-21-pm

ASHA Day 3

Posted by on Nov 20, 2016 in slider, SLP Conferences/Workshops Review | 0 comments

ASHA Day 3

So how did day three end at ASHA? Saturday seemed to be a very low energy day at ASHA. If I was someone who was only able to go for one day, Saturday would have been very disappointing. I did go to some very good sessions but nothing special was going on.

As I mentioned I listened to Wayne Secord speak in the early morning then went to a session on struggling writers presented by Melissa Feller. Melissa and I met later on the plane ride home and had a chance to chat. Turned out we had many mutual acquaintances in common. Small world.

I finally presented my poster session. I only had about 10-15 people come up and talk to me during the hour and a half so that was a little disappointing. I really wanted more people to get my rack card handout for administrators. However, those 10-15 people were very interested and felt the topic needed to be highlighted. Several people mentioned that their districts were working on developing a workload model. I hope someone somewhere has some success developing on that will work. I’ll be working on some blog posts in the future around the comments I received

There just wasn’t a lot of foot traffic going through the poster hall during my session and then the venue promptly kicked us out at 2:00. Actually shut off the lights so there was no time to linger. That was really disappointing.

Needless to say I have a ton of rack cards left. If you really wanted one send me a self addressed stamped envelope and I will mail you a few.
Teresa Sadowski
6 Birch Lane
Ipswich, MA 01938
If you want more than 10 shoot me an email at theschoolspeechtherapist.com.

ASHA was a successful trip for me. I spoke to a lot of like minded folks, made some connections, saw some amazing and fun products, met up with an old friend, introduced advocacy for SLPs, got some very positive feedback and picked up some very good information. I wish I could have stayed a few more days to see a little bit of the city.

 

Please like & share:

Doing things differently

Posted by on Nov 19, 2016 in slider, SLP Conferences/Workshops Review | 0 comments

Doing things differently

Morning session listening to Wayne Secore speak on practical classroom performance assessment. Talking about a different way to assess using the celf observational rating scale. Great information and humorous

check out my first impression of the celf 5 http://www.theschoolspeechtherapist.com/are-you-a-celfie/

Please stop by and visit my poster today. Board 273. Rack card for administrators handout

Please like & share:

ASHA 2016 Day 2

Posted by on Nov 19, 2016 in slider, SLP Conferences/Workshops Review | 1 comment

ASHA 2016 Day 2

Well I logged in almost 20,000 steps on the fit bit today.  Seemed like all the sessions I wanted to attend were at the other end of the complex.  Started early with a session on helping students with narratives.  That seems to be a big issue on my caseload these days but in not your typical way.  Did get some good ideas to share.  I also had my picture taken in the PR Lounge with advocate as my title.

The second session was titled Progress Monitoring and put on by the two ladies who created the product SLP Toolkit.  Lisa Kathman and Sarah Bevier are two dynamic working SLPs who may have just come up with a program and practical material that could work for school SLPs.  I stopped by their booth (739) yesterday and got a demo.  If you follow my blog you know I’m pretty critical but I was duly impressed.  Lots of time you look at material or programs that just don’t fit but I think the SLP Toolkit fits.

The mindfulness session I attended wasn’t what I thought it might be so I went on to another session focusing on spelling disabilities.  I got some good information out of that.

Decided to put my feet up for an hour or so before setting up my poster and meeting friends for dinner.  I’m excited to present my poster and share my concerns.  I”ve created a rack card that you can give to your school administrator to help start the conversation.  The rack cards will be there all day and I will be there from 12:30-2. Board 273

asha-poster-photo

Finally got out of this building and walked to Little Nonnas with friends.  A fun little hole in the wall on Locust street.  We had an excellent meal.  It was just such a cute place.  Highly recommend.

One more day to go.

Teresa

Please like & share:

Administrators guide to SLP Available at ASHA

Posted by on Nov 18, 2016 in slider, SLP Conferences/Workshops Review | 0 comments


Hi everyone. Just a quick reminder that I do have a few copies of my book with me at ASHA. I can let them go for $10. I have shared the book with a few vendors that might benefit. If there is anyone here at ASHA that you think should have a copy of my book please let me know.

Dont forget my poster session saturday 12:30-2. I have a rack card made up that you can share with your administrators to open the conversation

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/163490303X/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=yomiscaunag-20&camp=1789&creative=9325&linkCode=as2&creativeASIN=163490303X&linkId=563adc7b848bea00b8719685d7005ae9

Please like & share:

I am a leader

Posted by on Nov 18, 2016 in slider, SLP Conferences/Workshops Review | 0 comments

I am a leader

I’ve had quite a long day here at ASHA. I’m just about ready to fall asleep at the computer. Usually I don’t go in for the rah rah of welcome ceremonies but I am sure glad I went this morning. ASHA brought in a wonderful motivational speaker named Drew Dudley. He spoke about leadership and basically how we should all consider ourselves leaders. If you get a chance check him out on Ted talks but hopefully ASHA will put his talk on the ASHA website. Anyway it was a nice way to start my day.

I got two sessions in today. The first one was given by an Audiologist named Jeanane Ferre on CAPD. She did a very good job of explaining different aspects of CAPD and even provided goal and objective samples. It was an excellent presentation. The second one was encorporating music with patients with severe brain trauma. I remember learning (or realizing) the music connection to language development/recovery back in college. It is almost sinful that thirty years later it still isn’t standard practice or encorporated more often. Some of their patient videos were amazing.

So what else did I do all day? I attended a Sig 16 meeting (where I won a free affiliation membership for a year), listened to a variety of poster sessions, went to the PR Lounge reception (tomorrow I am going back to get my picture taken as part of their campagine to promote our CCCs), went through all the vendor booths and went to a very well attended SLP blogger meet and greet. My only dissapointment there is that it was too loud and crowded to meet and greet anyone. No one was really facilitating anything but they gave away a lot of prizes. I will try to stop by their booth tomorrow I think to make that connection.

Most important I got to meet up with an old friend, we had a nice little chat and planned dinner for tomorrow night.

I did pass out a couple of my books and a few of my cards so I’ll see if anything comes of that. All and all it was a fun and deucational day. I’m all planned for tomorrow and looking forward to getting up early and get moving. Looking forward to setting up my poster session at 6:00 tomorrow evening. Don’t forget to stop by my poster session I have a rack card for to give your administrator.

The only thing I’m going to do differently tomorrow is to eat a huge breakfast. I was starving by mid day:)

Teresa

Please like & share:

Largest gathering of SLPs in history

Posted by on Nov 17, 2016 in SLP Conferences/Workshops Review | 0 comments

screen-shot-2016-11-16-at-7-40-21-pm

Attending the Welcome to ASHA meeting. Going over some of the choices for programs. I’m going to be exposed to an amazing amount of information the next few days.

Over 1700 poster sessions over the next 3 days. That might explain why so many SLPs were traveling with tubes😉 Hope you all take some time to stop bye and peeks at the posters your interested in.

There were about 6 sessions I wanted to attend this morning. My plan is to attend one focusing on capd and writing ieps to reflect capd goals. I’ll let you know how it goes

Please like & share:

Can you spot the SLP?

Posted by on Nov 17, 2016 in slider, SLP Conferences/Workshops Review | 0 comments

screen-shot-2016-11-16-at-7-40-21-pm

I made it to Philly. It was a lot of fun at the airport. Met several SLP’s as we waited for our flight from Boston. We played spot the SLP. Which is never hard….SLPs can always scope out other SLPs…we must have some sort of cosmic connection. It helped that every other SLP was carried a poster tube with them.

Signing in was painless. No lines yet. I can’t imagine what the lines will look like tomorrow. It looked a little like they were getting ready to move some livestock. The sign up is set up in the exibition hall. Tonight there were lots of people around to point you in the right direction. The gift bags were basically program books and advertisements. There was also one cool little sticker.

Went over to the first timers event. I figured I qualified since I hadn’t been here for 29 years. It was more of a welcome to the ASHA organization rather than welcome to the conference. ASHA offered a nice little spread but if you wern’t with someone it wasn’t really that engaging. So I bailed and went to the Marriott Rewards Lounge for a drink and some nibbles.

Plan for the rest of the night is to firm up my plan for tomorrow.

Please like & share:

ASHA here I come

Posted by on Nov 16, 2016 in SLP Conferences/Workshops Review | 0 comments

I’m very excited to be traveling to ASHA 2016 today. I’m all set to go except for a few last minute details. I’ve already asked my husband to make sure I don’t forget to take my poster with me. My biggest fear is that I’m going to leave the poster somewhere since I’m not use to carrying around a tube. No I’m pretty sure I’ll keep the poster pretty close to me the whole trip.

Of course I’m wondering if there will be any interest in my poster session. It’s basically about self advocacy and recent personal experience tell me this is something greatly needed in our field. It is something I’ve worked on for years without much buy in from colleagues who are just trying to get through their day. Most of my work with administrators has fallen on deaf ears and we need to change that.

I’m hoping to get to Philly with a couple of hours of daylight to spare so I can see the city a little bit. ASHA sent an email warning us about political protests going on and to be cautious. I’m really not concerned, I don’t think SLPs are threatening targets. My experience is that most of us are too busy to even bring the subject up.

Apparently attendance for ASHA 2016 will shatter previous records. 15,000 SLPs and Audiologists are defending upon the city. I am looking forward to meeting some very friendly, interesting and like minded therapists the next few days.

Looking forward to attending the first timers meeting this evening. I figured since it’s been 29 years since my last convention It might be a good thing to go. Unless something more fun comes up.

Oh one last thing. I will have a few copies of my book available if anyone is interested. $10 if you want a copy while at ASHA.

Hope to see you there
tweet @TheSchoolSLP #ASHA16

Please like & share:

Using the Mira App for ASHA

Posted by on Nov 13, 2016 in slider, SLP Conferences/Workshops Review | 0 comments

Using the Mira App for ASHA

The task of choosing what to do, see and hear in a 3 day period with so many choices can be very daunting. However, now that I’ve figured out how to use the mira mobil app it has been much easier. Apparently there was an update a couple of days ago. Prior to that I was having trouble figuring it out because some of the functions weren’t working. (I don’t believe the search function is working appropriately yet).

I have spent a little bit of time on the ASHA web site putting a draft itinerary together. I’m looking through the courses/workshops/poster sessions to see what I might be interested it. I’m ignoring all the conflicts for now. I figure I’ll go through them the night before to firm up my schedule. Given the cost of the event, I don’t want to waste a minute.

I have my own criteria, it’s sort of like picking out a restaurant. Does the title sound interesting? That’s a start but I go a step further and look at the abstract for the session or maybe even the advanced handouts? If it is a research/study review session, does the study credible? Is there a chance I’m going to learn anything from this? For us SLPs working in the trenches, research is great but we need some conclusions, suggestions and recommendations. One thing I remember from going to ASHA 27 years ago was to avoid sessions where it looked like people were just going to read their research study.

Back to the Mira app….Once I put in the sessions I want to attend (through the ASHA site since it was easier to see) I was able to sync my itinerary to the app on both my phone and my iPad. It really was very simple after the app update a couple of days ago.

Things The Mira App doesn’t have
1. You can’t schedule in anything other than sessions. So I’ve put any other event I want to attend into my personal calendar so I will get a notification. I’m hoping to meet up with SIG 16 on Thursday at 12:30 for a meet and greet but I can’t manually put that in Mira.

2. All sessions are the same color. It would have been nice and a little easier on the eyes to have the poster sessions show up in a different color.

3. The clear button is very close to the move to the next day button. There is another icon to finish clear so you can catch yourself but still be careful. However, if it is in your computer just sync.

I’ll let you know how this works out for me.

Dont forget to add poster session #7738 Board 273 to your list of must sees:)

Please like & share: